Skip to content

39 weeks!

Monday, March 15, 2010

39 weeks

39 weeks

39 weeks

well, here we are floating in the limbo that is this last week before my estimated due date. i say limbo because this waiting time is perhaps the most difficult part of my pregnancy so far.

last week was full of contractions every evening, usually for a couple of hours, but just as i would begin to wonder if they were becoming something important, they’d taper off into nothing before bedtime. other than that, i haven’t exactly had any other signs of impending labor. i don’t feel sick. i haven’t seen anything resembling a mucous plug. i’m not crampy.

so, we’ll see what this week brings. i’m starting to settle into the understanding that the baby could decide to come after its due date, regardless of what anyone hopes for. it could come on or close to its due date, too. i suppose i still really would rather avoid chemical induction, if only because i have heard that pitocin makes everything a lot more intense, painful, and out of control. i think that if i end up being induced, i won’t be interested in even attempting a drug free birth, and that makes me a little sad. i do want to give it a try—again, for more reasons than i care to explain.

i will say i’m not trying to be supermom and i don’t want “bragging rights” about a med-free natural birth. part of my motivation is that yes, i don’t like needles … even in my spine. i have read there are risks with epidurals, some of them not showing up until well after birth is over. the only risk with a med-free birth is more pain. as someone who has literally prayed to die during severe migraines in her lifetime, i tend to think i can survive more pain. the pain of birth is different from that stabbing, mind-numbing pain of a migraine, i know, but i suppose from where i’m sitting this side of labor, i know that there’s a reward at the end … my baby.

there are no rewards after a migraine … except the risk of more migraines.

so, that’s about the best summary of my motivations as i can give. i want what’s best for myself and for my baby, so i’m not discounting medical intervention once i’m in the middle of the reality of labor. i’m not going to feel guilty if i finally ask for that epidural or if i request a narcotic to get me through transition. i’m not going to feel like i’ve cheated anyone or given into anything. it’s not like i know what to expect—even from myself.

i will say that both hubby and i are very excited and ready to meet the new life i’ve been carrying for 39 weeks. i do hope the baby picks its own birthday … and soon.

4 Comments
  1. Monday, March 15, 2010 10:57 am

    I always look forward to your blog posts! You can do it! Whatever you decide to do, you can! I have heard of the side effects of the epidural too, but you will know what to do when the time comes. Who knows, you could be 8 cm dialated by the time you get to the hospital! Let’s hope! It’s possible! 🙂

    • Monday, March 15, 2010 11:02 am

      Hahaha. That’s true. I have a friend who got to the hospital at 9cm. She didn’t have much of a choice, even if she was looking forward to an epidural. 😀

      I’m excited either way. I want to try out all of the interesting modern conveniences available for people in labor like the birthing ball and the jacuzzi tub and just being able to change positions and walk around. None of those things are possible once I get an epidural, though if my water breaks and there are signs of meconium (TMI but it’s baby poo) in it, then I won’t be able to enjoy the tub.

      So, I’m hoping nothing is too complicated when the time comes! 😀

      • Monday, March 15, 2010 2:45 pm

        LOL! Yes, arriving at the hospital at 9cm. was not my idea of a good time…but, at least it was over quickly.

      • Monday, March 15, 2010 3:06 pm

        No, I’m sure it wasn’t much fun … but at least it didn’t take all day! 😀

        I honestly don’t want to arrive at 9cm if I can help it. I do hope that once real labor happens, I’ll know the difference and get off my butt and go to the hospital in time. Since this is the first one, I’m sure I’ll be in labor lonnnnng enough …

Comments are closed.

