Skip to content

38 weeks

Monday, March 8, 2010

38 weeks

38 weeks

38 weeks

38 weeks down, 2 weeks or less (hopefully not more) left to go. look at my little t-rex hands over the vast expanse of my belly. i said weeks ago that i couldn’t imagine it getting any bigger. now, i can’t imagine what it’s going to be like once it gets smaller again.

yeah, i know that won’t be happening right away (and not without some after pains and hard work), but still. it’s one of those things that after nine months of growth and settling into maternity pants, it’s difficult to imagine what it’ll be like to “get back to normal.” whatever normal was for me—it’s not like i was happy with my weight or my appearance before i got pregnant. i think the transition period will be very hard for me, appearance-wise. i have a feeling it will be a big struggle. i don’t expect to shed pounds like a crazy woman while breastfeeding; i have a feeling i have one of those stubborn metabolisms that likes to cling to a few pounds. i don’t know this for sure, obviously, so i’m totally willing to find out if it’s untrue or not. in fact, i’d love for my fears to be put to rest and for my metabolism to wake up once the wombling is a fresh noob in the world.

a girl can hope, right?

i would like to point out, however, that the skirt i’m wearing today is the same one i wore months ago:

16 weeks

like this photo from week 16. obviously, the shirt is different. i won’t be wearing those shirts for a while.

anyway, as of my last doctor’s appointment before the weekend, i’m 1cm and 50%. that means progress is being made towards birth. i’m very excited. the babe’s not “engaged” in my pelvis yet, but by the looks of my photos lately, it’s starting to make it’s way downwards into a proper birth position.

what will this week bring? who knows.

One Comment
  1. Monday, March 8, 2010 11:36 am

    You are beautiful, It was great to see you the other day glowing. 🙂 Such a cute outfit too. It may be a wierd adjustment when your belly isn’t so full anymore, but just think, you will be holding your baby soon!

Comments are closed.

