Skip to content

back to the standard

Thursday, February 11, 2010

02-11-2010- ol' faithful

02-11-2010- ol' faithful

i still do bring my lunch to work, even if i haven’t been as regular about taking photos or posting. today, i even brought a tasty standard for me—a peanut butter and banana sandwich. i toasted the bread this morning. i also threw in a little bit of cottage cheese and some cut fresh veggies. it was tasty, but i did go next door to the pharmacy to pick up some pretzels for later.

if only comfort food could make me comfortable. i had an achy, rough night last night where my body refused to find a position that didn’t hurt somewhere (and my only two real options are my left or right sides, anyway). i could actually be getting used to less sleep at this point, but that doesn’t mean i still don’t feel tired. by the end of the day, everything feels so heavy, from my brain to my belly. it can be so draining, and sometimes i have to admit to myself that i can’t keep up with what i’m used to all the time. i’m carrying something growing around inside me, after all.

speaking of growing; that must be what the little one is doing today. it’s been pretty quiet. not even the normal morning dance party i get in my womb before rolling myself out of bed. honestly, there’s usually at least one quiet day a week for me, but the baby’s been quite busy all day every day other than that. it’s still leaning to the left, hefted up into my lungs when it stretches, feet trying to find a comfortable spot against various other (probably important) organs on occasion. everything turns a little silly, despite the discomfort, when there’s hiccups involved. it makes me giggle when the poor thing has them. there’s nothing either of us can do about them but endure!

anyway, as the weeks wind down toward the final stretch and labor, i find myself looking forward to being able to see and hold the thing i feel moving around. it’ll be nice to finally meet each other face to face.

2 Comments
  1. homebird2 permalink
    Thursday, February 11, 2010 3:48 pm

    Someone described hiccups in utero as “a version of Chinese water torture”. It made me giggle, because it’s kind of true! I don’t know how long your little one has them for, but sometimes it seems like FOREVER. 🙂

    • Thursday, February 11, 2010 3:53 pm

      The other night at 2am after I got up to go to the bathroom, it sure FELT like the hiccups lasted forever. Coupled with all the squirming and kicking said hiccups seemed to produce once I tried to lay down and get comfortable, it was quite a while before I got to go back to sleep …

      I don’t think they’re usually that bad. I feel them close to my left hip most of the time (more of that leaning-left thing that this baby does), and so it’s a really, really strange feeling against my pelvic bone on occasion. Although, I’ll take hiccups to a butt in my lungs and a foot in my ribs any time, no matter how long they last!

Comments are closed.

