Skip to content

farewell 2009. hello 2010.

Thursday, December 31, 2009

12-30 3.5 years and counting

tonight, i will be saying farewell to 2009 and hello to 2010.

this past year, i:

  • graduated with my masters in pastoral counseling
  • entered the third decade of my life
  • celebrated my third year of marriage
  • and enjoyed two trimesters of pregnancy with the first addition to our family

suffice to say, 2009 was a big year, but 2010 is going to be even bigger!

before i turn 31 (hopefully), we’ll have a baby. little anastasia or little elisha will be changing our lives forever, even more than they already have these past six months in the womb. we’ll be more than just two smiths and a dog, we’ll be two smiths with a family. hubby will graduate with his masters in november. those two things are definite, but the rest of the Lord’s plans for us are still yet to be discerned.

i’m both anxious and excited to see what this new year will bring to us—nothing will ever be the same, but i know that i welcome the change.

the one thing this year has not been for me is a spiritual one. i’ve definitely wandered from the kind of relationship with God that i once had, and not a day goes by that i don’t miss it. really, i do. i’m left at the end of this year feeling the consequences of my own convenient decisions and realizing that if things are to change, i still have to take the first steps.

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will turn back to you. (Psalm 51: 10-13)

farewell, 2009. it’s been a crazy year.

hello, 2010. let’s start this one out right.

Comments are closed.

