Skip to content

not so typical wednesday

Wednesday, December 9, 2009

12-09 eating through design

12-09 eating through design

mmmm wednesdays are such yummy days for lunch. the standard—potato soup and a blt. i also had a clementine later.

i’m back to considering giving sewing my own cloth diapers a try (once i finish the cloth wipes and the crib bedding i have planned). it does require purchasing fabric and pretending elastic doesn’t intimidate me, but from all the tutorials and free patterns online, i’m beginning to think it’s totally do-able. if i can get particularly ambitious, maybe i can even sew a few before the baby actually arrives.

we’ll see about that.

2 Comments
  1. Thursday, December 10, 2009 11:45 pm

    I don’t know enough about my sewing machine to make my own. I thought of sewing my own cloth wipes but even that seemed too time consuming to be worth it, since I don’t have a serger.

    One thing I will say is that if your baby is anything like my little man, you won’t have time to touch the sewing machine once he’s born. 7 1/2 months have gone by and I’ve yet to pull it out for anything, PLUS I’ve only managed to crochet 3 baby hats and a drink cozy in all that time. I used to have a couple project completed each WEEK. So I’d say try to get as much of the craftiness done before your due date, just in case!

  2. Friday, December 11, 2009 7:20 am

    i don’t have a serger, either, but i can turn and top-stitch instead. that’s what i plan to do with wipes. once i survive sewing sheets, if i feel up to dealing with elastic again, i may brave a diaper or two, which can also be top-stitched instead of serged. it just takes a bit more work since you have to turn the whole thing inside out and sew around it all again before you’re through. i wish i could find my bone folder for those hard-to-reach corners!

Comments are closed.

