Skip to content

rocking chair: is it necessary?

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

just like my post about changing tables, i’m wondering if a rocking chair is really a nursery necessity. so many nursery interior photos show some amazing designer rocking chair in one corner. yes, i plan on breast feeding, so i am quite aware i need somewhere to sit down and feed my child. however, our nursery is also an office and a music room. it’s a shared space because we’re in a two bedroom townhouse.

will our baby never be able to sleep without a glider or a rocking chair? will we be forever doomed with a grumpy baby just because we can’t rock it to sleep upstairs (the lazy boy downstairs rocks a little).

i’m sure i could find cheaper ones on craig’s list or at consignment/goodwill, but if we do need a changing table, a pack’n’play (for downstairs, travel, etc), and then a rocking chair … in addition to a car/seat stroller, cloth diapers, breast pump, bottles, etc … well, shoot. i’d better get a second job!

edit: actually, i have a feeling that if i wipe my 2007 black macbook clean and sell it for even $400-500, we can totally afford some baby furniture. at least a dresser/changing table and a rocking chair … like this one!

3 Comments
  1. homebird2 permalink
    Tuesday, October 27, 2009 4:26 pm

    Hmm. Good question. I was talking to my mom about this one too. She insists it’s a necessity, but I’m not so sure. Does it really matter? I think as long as you have somewhere comfy to sit, you’ll be good.

    I know what you mean about the money, too. All this stuff REALLY adds up. What concerns me is the initial cost of cloth diapers. I have a feeling we’ll have to take out a small loan for those, lol.

    • Tuesday, October 27, 2009 4:39 pm

      Yeah. There’s some nice “starter packages” of cloth diapers out there, depending on the company. Most of them are $300-400, which is steep to begin with, but considering cloth diapering is ultimately half the price of disposables, it’s still worthwhile. Coughing up the initial cost is definitely hard, but at least they pay for themselves in the end! (Yes, pun there.)

      As for a rocking chair, I think if it turns out to be something important, there’s always craig’s list and ebay. I thought about finding a changing table on one of those two sites, too. We have relatives in Richmond, so we have a wider selection when it comes to shopping craig’s list. We’ll just have to see what happens. I’m sure a nice rocking chair is a good investment since we’re planning on having more than one, anyway. So’s a dresser/changing table. 🙂

  2. Wednesday, October 28, 2009 10:23 am

    We bought a glider from a girl at church who was moving. I’m happy we have it, but I only use it at night… during the day I just nurse on the couch. I don’t rock Zeke as much as I just bounce him around, and I don’t know that Chris uses the glider much either. But I will say that you need a comfy chair of SOME sort (rocking or not) in the room that your little one will be sleeping in. When it’s nursing and diaper change time in the middle of the night, you don’t want to have to stumble around and farther than necessary!

Comments are closed.

