Skip to content

14 weeks

Friday, September 25, 2009

week 14, old skool style

here i am at the end of week 14. while my doctor’s visit revealed i haven’t gained a pound in 4 weeks, my body is most obviously changing to make room for the little thing i sometimes can feel fluttering about in my uterus. it’s growing, and so am i. i’m definitely beginning to feel better, however—less tired, clearer skin, less aches and pains—but the food apathy is really still an issue. i hate being hungry and not knowing what to eat; it’s terribly frustrating for a married woman with a husband to feed and a budget to keep. ugh.

i’ve been reading a book from a friend at church called preparation for parenting. so far, it’s been a really interesting read about establishing a feeding and sleeping schedule for our coming baby as well as ourselves. i enjoyed the way it presented all of the current theories on parenting and then offered a balanced approach. it really appeals to my thought process, and the fact that it’s written by a Christian family is a bonus that offers the kind of extra spiritual insight that’s both encouraging and comforting. there have been a few very striking comments in the book that i feel i will carry with me after birth and once the baby’s in our lives. i’m only about half-way done and i’ve been trying to share bits and pieces with hubby, though i’ll admit i’d rather him read it after me. it’d be nice to be on the same page and discuss what the book presents so we can form our own plan of how we want to incorporate a little one into our current lifestyle, knowing that it’s very existence is going to change everything.

9-25, breakfast of champions

speaking of hunger, if my breakfast this morning isn’t a terrible example of not eating healthy, i don’t know what is.

don’t get me wrong, however, it was most delicious. every friday is office breakfast day where whoever ended up with the magnetic “donut of destiny” (i think it’s actually a bagel) in their inbox in the foyer is doomed to select whatever their colleagues will be consuming as a morning treat. it’s adventurous and fun and everyone definitely looks forward to fridays. the current popular choice is biscuits from the hardee’s up the street. we’ve had muffins, bagels, donuts, and pastries, but everyone always ends up returning to the biscuits. they’re tasty, and it’s fine by me.

i’ve got a sprout to grow, after all.

okay, work is actually insane today and i shouldn’t even be blogging at all. i just wanted to get my photos from this morning up and here i’ve gone and rambled on for way too long. maybe i’ll be back at lunch time.

4 Comments
  1. homebird2 permalink
    Friday, September 25, 2009 11:57 am

    Looking good mama! I have to admit, I’m a little jealous you’re feeling movement already. I’m kind of in this awkward “I don’t really feel pregnant” stage. I’m sure I’ll join you soon. 🙂

    • Friday, September 25, 2009 12:09 pm

      you might feel it and not know it! i’ve had some real digestive problems (somewhat my whole life), but especially the first trimester. with that in mind, i know what gas feels like. the baby moving is different, faint, and only distinguishable if i’m still or trying to pay attention. it’s just like a fluttering that’s definitely not a movement in my intestines. (TMI, perhaps, but that’s the best way i can explain it)

  2. Joffre permalink
    Friday, September 25, 2009 1:10 pm

    You look great! (Man, I love those pregnant bellies…)

    And don’t worry about your meal…if you’re not eating enough, the more fat the better! Little one can handle it!

  3. Lissy permalink
    Monday, September 28, 2009 10:52 pm

    I really like this book: http://www.amazon.com/Secrets-Baby-Whisperer-Connect-Communicate/dp/0345479092/ref=pd_sim_dbs_b_5

    I liked the S’s… alot.

Comments are closed.

