Skip to content

old standby or controversy?

Thursday, September 3, 2009

9-03, old standby

yeah, so my lunch today included that favorite old standby—a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. the romaine lettuce in the fridge had gone bad (i have trouble keeping lettuce) and i wasn’t in the mood to make a cheese and meat sandwich (although, i could’ve slapped some avocado on there …). so, i caved and made myself a PB&J. i’m aware of the controversy of eating peanuts and peanut butter while pregnant. i’ve done some reading about the potential peanut allergy my child could be born with, but i’ve found that so far, the evidence is inconclusive and conflictingly confusing.

there’s no history of such allergies in my family, and i’m not a peanut-a-holic. i’m figuring that makes me and my currently unborn little one still safe here on the fence between the first and second trimester (one more week to go!).

however, the rest of my lunch was relatively guilt-free: baby carrots, cucumbers, blackberries, and pretzels. i figured it’s pretty balanced between danger and goodness, don’t you? although … i did also drink half a coke (that’s only 47.5 mg of caffeine!).

i’m so naughty …

2 Comments
  1. Tuesday, September 8, 2009 3:04 am

    My mom was a peanut butter addict when she was pregnant with me. I have a HUGE list of food allergies, but I can eat peanuts all day long. Same with my brother. So I’m not so sure about that peanut allergy thing myself. I even ate some peanut butter when I was pregnant.

  2. Tuesday, September 8, 2009 1:10 pm

    yeah. i think food allergies are dependent on a bit more than what you eat while you’re pregnant, but that’s just me trying to be logical. 🙂

Comments are closed.

